What is trocadeiro.com?
September 29 2006
My referrers lately have been showing a lot of blog hits originating from trocadiero.com. In the last week, it's become 3% of all pageviews.
www.trocadeiro.com (not making that a live link for reasons which should become obvious) just looks like one of those spammer search homepages. There's a link there to corporate structure, which changes to an equally innocuous page that has nothing to do with anything. A whois on trocadeiro.com doesn't yield anyting useful, taking me to stonediver.com (the same as the "corporate structure" page).
The weirdest thing is that the Dominoblog logs don't show these domains at all. They're sending something completely different (or bogus) vs. what Google analytics is seeing.
I suppose there's nothing I can do about it, but it doesn't seem like there's any logic to these pageviews. Of course, logic and spammers/phishers/etc. don't really go together in the same sentence, anyway.
Post a Comment
- 2
Jean-Francois Arseneault http://arseneault.ca/blog | 9/29/2006 10:21:30 AM
Ed, reminds me of some billboard commercials we started seeing early summer in Montreal, where we saw pictures of beaches, wine tastings, private islands and advertised as toarino.com. It was pitched as some exotic resort for rich folks...
Ends up that it was an anagram for 'Ontario', and that the beaches and private islands were for the 1000 Islands area, and of course, they do have famous vineyards near Niagara Falls.
Are your logs playing anagrams with you? :)
- 3
Girlflower | 10/2/2007 1:50:14 PM
I purchased a program that runs on auto.. six sites leading back to DeQuba for credits to be sold to traffice brokers. Lateley I was checking out the browser options and discovered they had browsers entered under the litte $$ sign.... once was this Trocadiero....!!!! I've not sold any of the credits I've earned and was wondering if this gy who solf me the program is scamming me after the product was installed by making money from my efforts.. and copping my credits... anyway that is what I've found out about this Trocadiero.com so far!!!




Perhaps this is a test to see how secure yoour blogsite is, or potentially a DoS attack.
Or maybe just some people from MS who don't want you to know they read your blog and are hiding their trail.
Ask Oliver Stone, he probably has a theory :-)